Found an issue on this page? Let us know and we will look into it as soon as possible.
If a person has had one previous DUI in 1987, what would the charge be for a second DUI.
Anonymous2 views3 answers
Ny girlfriend was pulled over, could not see the reason why in the cd, for court. After about 45 minutes, the officer did a field sobriety test on her. She was very nervous and is being treated for anxiety, She failed the tests and then basically refused a blood test. What is the worst fine she could receive?
I do not practice in Florida, but the FloridaDMV shows the following maximum penalties for a DUI with no prior DUI's within five years.
* Fine - $250 to $500
* Community Service - 50 Hours
* Probation - Not more than 1 Year
* Imprisonment - Not more than 6 Months
* Imprisonment with BAL of .08 or higher with a minor in the vehicle, not more than 9 months
* License Revocation - Minimum of 180 days
* DUI School - 12 Hours
So this should be the worst that can happen unless there are other charges or other circumstances such as an accident or injury. There may also be consequences for the test refusal besides these penalties.
As you can see, the risk of prison, fine and license suspensions is very, very serious. If she doesn't already have an experienced DUI lawyer she should get one immediately. If she has a lawyer these questions should be addressed to that lawyer.
DISCLAIMER- THIS IS NOT INTENDED TO AND DOES NOT CONSTITUTE LEGAL ADVICE AND DOES NOT ESTABLISH AN ATTORNEY-CLIENT RELATIONSHIP. CONSULT QUALIFIED LEGAL COUNSEL IN YOUR CITY OR STATE FOR IMMEDIATE LEGAL ADVICE.
Please ignore the other out-of-state attorney's response. You are actually facing up to 9 months jail (assuming this is not an accident, in which case it would be a year), fines and court costs close to $1500, DUI school, alcohol treatment, an ignition interlock for the vehicle, a vehicle impound, and a one year license suspension with no right to a hardship. Hire an attorney immediately to fight this. Florida doesn't care that the DUI was over 20 years ago, they only look at it, as a second DUI. Time is crucial, call an attorney today.